Epoch of Joey

I killed a crow last Tuesday
& you told me it reminded 
you of Joey- my older 
brother. I sat inside Big
Bertha when you pointed
to the bend in the road.
That’s where Joey died. 
He didn’t wear his seat belt. 
I refused arm floaties
at Huntington Beach when
I couldn’t swim & you said
Joey did the same thing before
the sharks got him & when
I painted Holly Berry
on your BMW you told me Joey 
smeared scat on the walls
& called it art but look where 
he is now. Only on my ninth
birthday did I realize how many
times Joey died but even now
I think what would Joey do? 

 

Leave a Reply

